

English -

## Jeff winners for 1998-99

Chicago Sun-Times - Tuesday, November 9, 1999

Author: HEDY WEISS

Here is a complete list of Joseph Jefferson Award winners for the 1998-99 theater season:

Production, play: "Death of a Salesman," Goodman Theatre.

Production, musical: "La Cage aux Folles," Drury Lane Theatre.

New work: Rebecca Gilman, "Spinning Into Butter," Goodman Studio Theatre.

New adaptation: Mary Zimmerman, "Metamorphoses," Lookingglass Theatre Company.

Production, revue: "All Night Strut," Drury Lane Theatre.

Director, play: Robert Falls, "Death of a Salesman."

Director, musical: Marc Robin, "La Cage aux Folles."

Director, revue: Marc Robin, "All Night Strut."

Principal actress, play: Carmen Roman, "Master Class," Northlight Theatre in association with Columbia Artists Management.

Principal actress, musical: Kathy Voytko, "Crazy for You," Drury Lane Oakbrook.

Principal actor, play: Brian Dennehy, "Death of a Salesman."

Principal actor, musical: James Harms, "La Cage aux Folles."

Supporting actress, play: Elizabeth Franz, "Death of a Salesman."

Supporting actress, musical: Peggy Roeder, "The Wizard of Oz," Marriott Theatre in Lincolnshire.

Supporting actor, play: Yasen Peyankov, "Morning Star," Steppenwolf Theatre Company.

Supporting actor, musical: Guy Adkins, "Floyd Collins," Goodman Theatre.

Actress, revue: Hollis Resnik, "Songs for a New World," Apple Tree Theatre.

Actor, revue: John Steven Crowley, "Elvis Presley Was a Black Man," Black Ensemble Theatre.

Ensemble: "Are You Now or Have You Ever Been . . . ?" The Next Theatre.

Scenic design: Stephanie Nelson, "The Cut," A Red Orchid Theatre.

Costume design: Virgil Johnson, "Henry IV, Parts 1 and 2," Shakespeare Repertory Theatre.

Lighting design: T.J. Gerckens, "Metamorphoses."

Sound design: Lindsay Jones, "Old Wicked Songs," Apple Tree Theatre.

Choreography: Sylvia Hernandez-DiStasi, "The Baron in the Trees," Lookingglass Theatre Company.

Original music: Alaric Jans, "Henry IV, Parts 1 and 2."

Musical direction: Terry James, "All Night Strut."

Non-resident production: Livent's "Ragtime" at the Oriental Theatre.

Principal actress, non-resident: Donna Bullock, "Ragtime."

Principal actor, non-resident: Norbert Leo Butz, "Cabaret" at the Shubert.

Supporting actress, non-resident: Kristin Chenoweth, "You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown" at the North Shore Center for the Performing Arts.

Supporting actor, non-resident: Roger Bart, "You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown."

Special awards: Chicago Shakespeare Theater and stage manager Joseph Drummond.

Caption: Andrew Navarro as Patrick Chibas and Mary Beth Fisher as Dean Sarah Daniels star in Rebecca Gilman's "Spinning Into Butter" at the Goodman Theatre. See also related story.

Edition: LATE SPORTS FINAL Section: SECTION 2; FEATURES

Page: 28

Index Terms: joseph jefferson awards; list; PLAYS

Record Number: CST11090010 Copyright 1999 Chicago Sun-Times, Inc.

To bookmark this article, right-click on the link below, and copy the link location:

Jeff winners for 1998-99