

2000-2001 JEFF WINNERS

Chicago Sun-Times - Wednesday, November 7, 2001

2000-2001 JEFF WINNERS:

*Production, play: "Hard Times," Lookingglass Theatre Company with the Actors' Gymnasium.

********************** "The King and I," Marriott Theatre in Lincolnshire.

*Ensemble: "The Incident," the Next Theatre Company.

*New work: Ann Noble, "The Pagans," Seanachai Theatre Company, and "The Ballad of Little Jo," Steppenwolf Theatre Company.

*New adaptation: Heidi Stillman, "Hard Times."

*Director, play: Heidi Stillman, "Hard Times."

*Director, musical: Gary Griffin, "big, the musical."

*Director, revue: Marc Robin, "And the World Goes 'Round," Drury Lane Theatre, Evergreen Park.

*Principal actress, play: Carmen Roman, "Wit," Goodman Theatre.

*Principal actor, play: Greg Vinkler, "King Lear," Chicago Shakespeare Theater.

*Principal actress, musical: Mary Ernster, "The King and I."

*Principal actor, musical: Rod Thomas, "big, the musical," Drury Lane Oakbrook.

*Supporting actress, play: Laura T. Fisher, "Early and Often," Famous Door Theatre Company.

*Supporting actor, play: David Darlow, "Endgame," American Theater Company.

*Supporting actress, musical: Alene Robertson, "Mame," Marriott Theatre in Lincolnshire.

*Supporting actor, musical: Gordon McClure, "Being Beautiful," Chicago Theatre Company.

*Actress, revue: E. Faye Butler, "Could It Be Magic?," Gary C. Kief, Robert E. Kief, Scott E. Nederlander, STILETTO Entertainment and JAM Theatricals.

*Actor, revue: Mark Townsend, "The Nat King Cole Story," the Black Ensemble Theater.

******* Linda Buchanan, "House," Goodman Theatre.

*Lighting design: Brian Sidney Bembridge, "Hard Times."

*Costume design: Nancy Missimi, "The King and I."

*Sound design: Mike Frank and Andre Pluess, "Macbett," Division 13 Productions and greasy joan & co.

English

Ŧ

*Choreography: Sylvia Hernandez-DiStasi, "Hard Times."

*Original music: Alaric Jans, "The Two Gentlemen of Verona," Chicago Shakespeare Theater.

*Musical direction: Patrick Vaccariello, "Ballad of Little Jo."

*Actress, non-resident: Marilu Henner, "Annie Get Your Gun," Barry and Fran Weissler with Kardana/Swinsky Productions, Michael Watt and Hal Luftig.

*Actor, non-resident: Nick Garrison, "Hedwig and the Angry Inch," Susann Brinkley and Job E. Christenson with Samjack LLC; Alice's Enterprises Ltd., and JBF Producing Corp Inc.

Caption: CHART. See also related story page 56.

Section: SECTION 2; FEATURES Page: 56 Column: STAGE DIRECTIONS Index Terms: NEWS; PLAYS; Joseph Jefferson Awards 2000 - 2001 winners list chart Record Number: 0EFC9AD734FFFBFD Copyright 2001 Chicago Sun-Times, Inc.

To bookmark this article, right-click on the link below, and copy the link location: 2000-2001 JEFF WINNERS